You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 12, 2011.

It’s a new year. 2011. B and I will be celebrating 8 wonderful years together. I will be starting graduate school at University of Hartford. It may be one class at a time – but its a start. This year is one for a lot of planning – a lot of changes and I am looking forward to every moment of it. I plan on making a real, true effort to blog more often and to document my plans.

B and I can finally say “We are getting married next year”. Which feels SO good. When we first became engaged I was over the moon – but struggled with the idea that our wedding date was SO FAR AWAY. In reality 2 years to wait is not that bad, particularly because B is still in school (darn school. 🙂 ), but it felt like eons.

The reality also is that if B and I had the option, we’d be happily married and nesting already. When you’ve been together as long as we have it’s truly all you want to do.

We visited a couple wineries for our venue and although we Luerved them – the cost was just too high for this on a budget couple. And let me tell you – it hurt a little. I had dreams of prancing through the vines with my new husband, wonderful pictures next to barrels, delicious vino aged on the property, good food, wonderful setting. The $$$ behind that also hurt though. Enough that we really had to reconsider our options.

(We’ll get into budget a little more in the future.)

So I searched and searched for other options. I wanted something that would provide an outdoor ceremony. I was raised Catholic and wouldn’t be completely opposed to a church wedding – but as B is not Catholic and not ready to say “hey I’ll definitely raise my kids Catholic” we decided to do something we really like – outside. I wanted a very intimate setting in a garden. Many people suggested where B and I met – but it’s a work place for us and not that I have anything against the place, as I have admired wedding and wedding that has taken place there.. Just not the feeling we wanted.

We found a couple of options to look at and made an appointment at one of the location. The identity of this will be saved for my next post  – but the venue boasted many things – outdoor space for a ceremony and for cocktails. Indoor ballroom for the reception. It happens to also have accommodations for overnight guests which is great for our out-of-town guests. The per person cost includes everything from cocktail Hor’deurves with a 3 course meal and cake. A Day of coordinator will smooth any issues that may arise and will keep everything organized. There is an in-house spa and salon and space provided for the bridal party to get dressed. Everything included. My kind of place.

There were other places that were gorgeous, on the water, near a beach – but all had space rental costs and then we still needed to find a caterer, etc. It wasn’t all-inclusive.

We chose our location because of how we felt. I walked into the venue and was immediately greeted. The coordinator had obvious experience and finesse in dealing with difficult guests and family members in the planning process and had an aura that she truly enjoyed assisting couples in what would be the biggest day of the beginning of their lives. The outdoor ceremony incorporated a garden and an element of water – it was quiet and peaceful. I’ve heard raves about the food. The best part? I could actually see myself in a wedding gown, walking down a set of beautiful brick stairs entering a garden to meet B – I could see myself saying my vows, enjoying my family and friends. It was perfect.

We recently put the deposit down for September 14, 2012.

I get to marry my best friend.

Look back?

January 2011
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other subscriber